Quality control of herbal tea

Last updated: 30. January 2018

To order information

Quality control of herbal tea

The German Foundation “Warentest” repeatedly tested herbal teas and published the results (as of issue 04/2017). Unwanted substances such as anthraquinone, pyrrolizidine alkaloids (short PA) and pesticides continue to determine the scope of the test and their results.

These pollutants are a knock-out criterion because they are relevant to the health of the consumer

In order to be able to compare pollutant-free goods among themselves, further quality features are used, for example

  • the purity of the goods,
  • the origin of the goods,
  • the freshness of the goods,
  • the presence of selected ingredients such as the essential oils,
  • the life cycle assessment of the import route,
  • fair trade

The analyzed pollutants:

Pyrrolizine alkaloids (PA)

PA’s are natural plant nutrients that protect the plants against predators. They occur in more than 6000 different plants. They are mainly found in plants of the sunflower-family and the borage-family. These secondary plant substances are suspected of being carcinogenic. They get into the teas and herbal teas by inadvertently gathered weeds. Of course, carcinogenic substances are not supposed to appear in a product, which is often used to promote and maintain health because of its ingredients.

On the topic PAs the German Teeverband eV provides information at http://www.engagement-fuer-tee.de/home/. Although this is a publication of a branch-oriented organization, it is nevertheless considered to be balanced from a scientific point of view and is characterized by the fact that frequently asked questions are adequately answered in simple language.

According to recent publications by the BfR und der EFSA erbal teas, rooibos tea and honey are the main sources through which the humans consume PAs. In over 90% of the tested samples PAs were detected. Of particular importance here are food supplements based on herbs. Frequently the PAs are enriched in their production so that food supplements have the highest contents.

Pesticides and anthraquinone

Increased levels of plant protection products in tea are also unacceptable.

The anthraquinone occupies a special position among the pesticides. It is not yet clear how the substance gets into the product.On the one hand, it has been used as a plant protection product, and on the other hand it is ubiquitous as an environmental contaminant. This leads to a conflict at Bioware at the latest. Even if the bioproducer adheres to all rules and acts with great circumspection, it is possible that anthraquinone is found in its products because the plants have absorbed this substance from the environment.

The test of herbal teas by the German Foundation “Warentest” again makes it very clear that the quality control of the raw materials is essential for this product group. If the quality of the raw materials is flawless, this should also apply to the quality of the final product. Nevertheless, the focus on the contaminants always gives only half the truth about the quality of the product.

Tea and its legal appearances

Herbal teas are beeing marketed in three ways:

a) as food

b) as infant food

c) as a medicinal product.

The requirements for the medicinal herbal tea are higher and more precisely specified than those of food. The provisions of the European Pharmacopoeia describe how the valuable ingredients are to be analyzed. They also describe the microscopic appearance of the raw materials and the impurities. For herbal tea as a baby food, for example the popular fennal tea, much more stringent legal requirements apply to pesticide residues and other contaminants.

How to distinguish between good herbal tea and bad one?

Vegetable impurities caused by wild herbs can be detected and quantified microscopically. This is a very time-consuming process which requires years of training and expertise. This expertise is partly only present in the tea processing companies – In test laboratories and institutes, it is rare to find experts who have this expertise.

PAs always provide an indication of impurities with PA-containing wild herbs. They give no indication as to which herb it really is, or to the amount of contamination. Microscopy is therefore still essential.

The sensor technology of tea infusions provides information about the quality and, if necessary, the type and origin of the raw material used.

The list of ingredients should only include herbs, no sugar and no so-called natural flavouring substances.

The best before date also provides information about the freshness of the goods. Herbal teas or peppermint tea have a best before date of approx. 2 years. If the best before date is within the next months, it can be assumed that this is a product from an old harvest.

Where do the raw materials for herbal teas come from?

Peppermint can thrive in different climatic regions. Europe, North Africa, Western Asia and China provide the bulk of the peppermint on the world market.

Home of the real chamomile is the near east, Southern and Eastern Europe. Today it is domesticated throughout Europe, also in North America and in Australia.

Fennel, on the other hand, is an ancient, originally Mediterranean cultivated plant.

The necessity to use pesticides to avoid crop losses is very different due to climatic conditions. Also handling of plant protection products by trained personell is not guaranteed in many countries. Different herbs from different cultivation areas inevitably lead to a higher risk of pesticide contamination in herbal teas. A complete control of raw goods is therefore indispensable.

ingredients

chamomile

The main chemical components of these oils are bisabolol and bisabolol oxides, transβ-ferns from the class of sesquiterpene and others. Chamazulen, which is responsible for the deep blue color of chamomile oil, is produced only by the extraction of the oil by water vapor distillation from the matricin, a sesquiterpene lactone. The camomile flowers contain 0.3 to 1.5% essential oil; that means approximately 100 kg camomile flowers are required for one liter of camomile oil. The oil of the Roman chamomile is yellowish / green and therefore can be distinguished from the oil of the real chamomile.

mint

50-80% of the essential oil of mint consists of menthol. Other ingredients are menthone, flavonoids, tannins and bitter substances (rosmarinic acid, coffee acid, clorogenic acid).

The different mint varieties also differ in the ingredients. There is therefore no menthol and no menthone in the bergamottemine. Essential differences in aroma are found between the different varieties; The Moroccan Nana mint, for example, is somewhat fresher and finer in the smell and taste.

fennel

The main essential oil in the fennel are anthenol and fenchon.The anthenol is responsible for the anise-like taste and smell while the fenchone has a bitter note.

What other analyzes besides pollutant controls are important?

In addition to analysis on pesticide residues, PAs and other chemical contaminants, a microscopic and macroscopic determination of the species is necessary whenever a higher-quality product has to be distinguished from the bulk material. A determination of the origin using “isotope analysis” can also be a means for the purchaser and dealer to recognize incorrectly declared goods. The determination of the content of essential oils is not only a standard for herbal teas, which are marketed as medicinal products; Even for conventional goods the content is directly related to the price and must therefore be determined analytically.

We recommend the following analyzes for comprehensive quality control:


my-lab analysis: Pestizides in tea, tea like products and herbs

Pestizides in tea, tea like products and herbs (screening of ca. 650 compounds)

FPLX2

For business customers

For laboratories


my-lab analysis: Anthraquinone in tea

Anthraquinone in tea

FPA01

For business customers

For laboratories


Pyrolizidin alcaloides in tea (Camelia sinensis spp.)

Pyrolizidin alcaloides in tea (Camelia sinensis spp.)

FCPA1

For business customers

For laboratories


my-lab analysis: heavy metals (package) Arsenic, Mercury, Lead, Cadmium in food or feed

heavy metals (package) Arsenic, Mercury, Lead, Cadmium in food or feed

FAC01

For business customers

For laboratories


my-lab analysis: Glyphosat and AMPA in food and feed

Glyphosat and AMPA in food and feed

FPG01

For business customers

For laboratories


my-lab analysis: polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons 4 (PAH) in food

polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons 4 (PAH) in food

FPAH4

For business customers

For laboratories


my-lab analysis: Catechins in tea

Catechins in tea

FOC01

For business customers

For laboratories


my-lab analysis: total polyphenols (Folin)

total polyphenols (Folin)

FGS32

For business customers

For laboratories


my-lab analysis: yeast and mold in food

microbiology: yeast and mold in food

FMI01

For business customers

For laboratories


Pyrolizidin alcaloides in herbal infusions and dried herbs

Pyrolizidin alcaloides in herbal infusions and dried herbs

FCPA2

For business customers

For laboratories


For any questions regarding the analysis of herbal tea, please contact us:

E-Mail: mail@my-lab.com

Tel.: +49 30 5659081500


Pictures taken from:

  • Source: my-lab International | modified by my-lab International

Qualitätskontrolle von Kräutertee

zur Bestellinformation

Qualitätskontrolle von Kräutertee

Die Stiftung Warentest hat zum wiederholten Male Kräutertees getestet und die Ergebnisse veröffentlicht (test 4/2017). Unerwünschte Stoffe wie Anthrachinon, Pyrrolizidinalkaloide (kurz PA) und Pestizide bestimmen nach wie vor maßgeblich den Prüfumfang und das Testergebnis.

Diese Schadstoffe sind ein Knock Out-Kriterium, weil sie für die Gesundheit des Verbrauchers relevant sind.

Um Schadstoff freie Ware untereinander vergleichen zu können, werden weitere Qualitätsmerkmale herangezogen, beispielsweise die Prüfung

  • der Reinheit der Ware,
  • der Herkunft der Ware,
  • die Frische der Ware,
  • das Vorhandensein ausgesuchter Inhaltsstoffe wie der ätherischen Öle,
  • die Ökobilanz des Importweges,
  • auf Fair Trade

Die analysierten Schadstoffe:

Pyrrolizdinalkaloide (PA)

PA‘s sind natürliche Pflanzeninhaltstoffe, mit denen sich die Pflanzen vor Fraßfeinden schützen. Sie kommen in mehr als 6000 verschiedenen Pflanzen vor. Hauptsächlich sind sie in Korbblütern, Borretschgewächsen und Raublattgewächsen zu finden. Diese sekundären Pflanzenstoffe stehen in Verdacht, krebserregend zu sein.  Sie gelangen durch versehentlich mitgesammelte Unkräuter in die Tees und Kräutertees. Natürlich sollen krebserregende Substanzen nicht in einem Produkt auftauchen, welches wegen seiner Inhaltsstoffe häufig auch zur Förderung und Erhaltung der Gesundheit konsumiert wird.

Zum Thema PAs stellt der Deutsch Teeverband e.V. Informationen auf http://www.engagement-fuer-tee.de/home/ zur Verfügung. Auch wenn dies eine Veröffentlichung einer branchennahen Organisation ist, so ist sie doch aus wissenschaftlicher Sicht als ausgewogen zu betrachten und zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass häufig gestellte Fragen hinreichend und in einfacher Sprache beantwortet werden.

Nach jüngsten Veröffentlichungen des BfR und der EFSA sind Kräutertees, Rooibostee und Honig die Hauptquellen, über die der Mensch PAs aufnimmt. In über 90% der untersuchten Proben konnten PAs nachgewiesen werden. Von besonderer Bedeutung sind hier Nahrungsergänzungsmittel auf Kräuterbasis. Häufig werden die PAs bei deren Herstellung angereichert, so daß Nahrungsergänzungsmittel die höchsten Gehalte aufweisen.

Pestizide und Anthrachinon

Auch erhöhte Gehalte an Pflanzenschutzmitteln sind nicht akzeptabel.

Das Anthrachinon nimmt unter den Pestiziden eine Sonderstellung ein. Bisher ist noch nicht vollständig geklärt wie die Substanz in das Produkt gelangt. Zum einen wurde es als Pflanzenschutzmittel eingesetzt, und zum  anderen kommt es als Umweltkontaminante ubiquitär vor. Dies führt spätestens bei Bioware zu einem Konflikt. Selbst wenn sich der Bioproduzent an alle Regeln hält und mit größter Umsicht agiert, kann es passieren, dass in seinen Produkten Anthrachinon gefunden wird, weil die Pflanzen diese Substanz aus der Umwelt aufgenommen haben.

Der Kräutertee-Test der Stiftung Warentest macht wiederum sehr deutlich, dass die Qualitätskontrolle der Rohwaren für diese Produktgruppe essentiell ist. Ist die Qualität der Rohwaren einwandfrei sollte dies auch für die Qualität des Endproduktes gelten. Dennoch liefert die Fokussierung auf die Kontaminanten immer nur die halbe Wahrheit über die Qualität des Produktes.

 Tee und seine rechtlichen Erscheinungsformen

Kräutertees können prinzipiell auf drei Wegen in den Verkehr gebracht werden:

a) als Lebensmittel

b) als Säuglingsnahrung

c) als Arzneimittel.

Die Anforderungen an das Arzneimittel Kräutertee sind höher und genauer spezifiziert als die an Lebensmittel. Die Vorschriften des Europäischen Arzneibuches beschreiben, wie die wertgebenden Inhaltsstoffe zu analysieren sind. Sie beschreiben auch das mikroskopische Erscheinungsbild der Rohwaren  und das der Verunreinigungen. Für Kräutertee als Säuglingsnahrung, beispielsweise dem beliebten Fencheltee, gelten deutlich strengere gesetzliche Vorgaben für Pestizidrückstände und andere Kontaminanten.

Wie kann man eigentlich guten Kräutertee von schlechtem unterscheiden?

Pflanzliche Verunreinigungen durch Wildkräuter lassen sich mikroskopisch erkennen und quantifizieren. Das ist ein sehr zeitaufwendiges Verfahren, welches jahrelanges Training und Expertise voraussetzt. Diese Expertise ist zum Teil nur noch in den Tee verarbeitenden Unternehmen vorhanden.; In Prüflaboratorien und –instituten findet man nur noch selten Experten, die dieses Fachwissen vorweisen können.

PAs liefern immer nur einen Hinweis auf Verunreinigungen mit PA-haltigen Wildkräutern. Sie geben keinen Hinweis darauf, um welches Kraut es sich wirklich handelt,und auch nicht auf die Menge der Verunreinigung. Die Mikroskopie ist daher nach wie vor unerlässlich.

Die Sensorik von Teeaufgüssen liefert Aufschlüsse über die Qualität und gegebenenfalls auch die Sorte und Herkunft der eingesetzten Rohware.

Auf der Zutatenliste sollten ausschließlich Kräuter auftauchen, kein Zucker und auch keine natürlichen oder naturidentischen Aromastoffe.

Auch das MHD gibt Aufschluss über die Frische der Ware. Kräutertees oder Pfefferminztees haben eine Mindesthaltbarkeit von ca. 2 Jahren. Liegt das MHD also innerhalb der nächsten Monate, so kann man davon ausgehen, dass es sich hier um eine Ware aus einer alten Ernte handelt.

Wo kommen die Rohwaren für Kräutertees her?

Pfefferminze kann in verschiedenen klimatischen Regionen gedeihen. Europa, Nordafrika, Vorderasien und China liefern den Großteil der Pfefferminze auf dem Weltmarkt.

Heimat der Echten Kamille ist Vorderasien, Süd- und Osteuropa. Heute ist sie in ganz Europa, auch in Nordamerika und in Australien eingebürgert.

Fenchel hingegen ist eine alte, ursprünglich mediterrane Kulturpflanze

Die Notwendigkeit, Pestizide einzusetzen, um Ernteverluste zu vermeiden, ist klimatisch bedingt sehr unterschiedlich. Auch der geschulte Umgang mit Pflanzenschutzmitteln ist in vielen Ländern nicht gewährleistet.  Unterschiedliche Kräuter aus unterschiedlichen Anbaugebieten führen bei Kräutertees unweigerlich zu einem höheren Risiko hinsichtlich der Pestizidbelastung.  Eine lückenlose Rohwarenkontrolle ist daher unerlässlich.

Inhaltsstoffe

Kamille

Wert gebender Bestandteil der Kamillenblüte ist das ätherische Öl, welches normalerweis mittels Wasserdampfdestillation aus den Blütenköpfen extrahiert werden kann. Die chemischen Hauptkomponenten diese Öls sind Bisabolol und Bisabololoxyde, trans-β-Farnesen aus der Klasse der Sesquiterpene  u.a. . Chamazulen, welches für die tiefblaue Farbe des Kamillenöls verantwortlich ist, entsteht erst bei der Extraktion des Öls mittels Wasserdampfdestillation aus dem Matricin, einem Sesquiterpenlacton. Die Kamillenblüten enthalten 0,3 bis 1,5% ätherisches Öl; d. h. für einen Liter Kamillenöl benötigt man annähernd 100 kg Kamillenblüten. Das Öl der römischen Kamille ist gelblich/grün und lässt sich daher gut von dem Öl der echten Kamille unterscheiden.

Minze

50-80 % des ätherischen Öls der Minze bestehen aus Menthol. Weitere Inhaltstoffe sind Menthon, Flavonoide, Gerb- und Bitterstoffe (Rosmarinsäure, Kaffeesäure, Clorogensäure).

Die unterschiedlichen Minzsorten unterscheiden sich auch in den Inhaltsstoffen. So findet man in der Bergamotteminze kein Menthol und kein Menthon. Wesentliche Unterschiede im Aroma finden sich zwischen den verschiedenen Sorten; so gilt beispielsweise die marokkanische Nana Minze als im Geruch und Geschmack etwas frischer und feiner.

Fenchel

Die wichtigsten ätherischen Öl im Fenchel sind Anthenol und Fenchon. Das Anthenol ist für den anisartigen Geschmack und Geruch verantwortlich während das Fenchon eine bittere Note hat.

Welche weiteren Analysen neben den Schadstoffkontrollen sind wichtig?

Neben der Analyse auf Pestizidrückstände, auf PAs und andere chemische Kontaminanten ist eine mikroskopische und makroskopische Sortenbestimmung immer dann notwendig, wenn qualitativ hochwertigere Ware von der Massenware unterschieden werden muss. Auch eine Herkunftsbestimmung mittels „Isotopenanalytik“ kann für den Einkäufer und Händler ein Mittel sein, falsch deklarierte Ware zu erkennen. Die Bestimmung des Gehaltes an ätherischen Ölen ist nicht nur Standard für die Kräutertees, die als Arzneimittel in den Verkehr gebracht werden; auch für konventionelle Ware steht der Gehalt in direkter Relation zum Preis und muss daher analytisch bestimmt werden.

 

Wir empfehlen folgende Analysen für eine umfassende Qualitätskontrolle:

 


Laboranalyse: Pestizide im Tee, in teeähnlichen Erzeugnissen und in Kräutern

Pestizide in Tee, teeähnlichen Erzeugnissen und Kräutern (Screening auf ca. 650 Verbindungen)

FPLX2

Downloads:

Für Businesskunden

Für Laborkunden


Laboranalyse: Anthrachinon in Tee

Anthrachinon in Tee

FPA01

Downloads:

Für Businesskunden

Für Laborkunden


Pyrrolozidinalkaloide in Tee (Camelia sinensis spp.)

Pyrrolozidinalkaloide in Tee (Camelia sinensis spp.)

FCPA1

Downloads:

Für Businesskunden

Für Laborkunden


Laboranalyse:  Blei, Cadmium, Quecksilber, Arsen in Lebensmittel und Futtermittel

Schwermetalle in Lebensmitteln und Futtermitteln: (Blei, Cadmium, Quecksilber, Arsen)

FAC01

Downloads:

Für Businesskunden

Für Laborkunden


Laboranalyse - Pestizid: Glyphosat in Lebensmitteln und Futtermitteln

Pestizid: Glyphosat in Lebensmitteln und Futtermitteln

FPG01

Downloads:

Für Businesskunden

Für Laborkunden


Analyse von my-lab: polycyclischen aromatischen Kohlenwasserstoffe 4 (PAK) in Lebensmitteln

Polycyclische aromatische Kohlenwasserstoffe 4 (PAK) in Lebensmitteln

FPAH4

Downloads:

Für Businesskunden

Für Laborkunden


Laboranalyse: Catechine in Tee

Catechine in Tee

FOC01

Downloads:

Für Businesskunden

Für Laborkunden


Laboranalyse: Gesamtpolyphenole (Folin)

Gesamtpolyphenole (Folin)

FGS32

Downloads:

Für Businesskunden

Für Laborkunden


Laboranalyse: Hefen und Schimmelpilze in Lebensmitteln

Mikrobiologie: Hefen und Schimmelpilze in Lebensmitteln

FMI01

Downloads:

Für Businesskunden

Für Laborkunden


Bei Fragen zur Analytik in Tee und Kräutertee beraten wir Sie gerne:

Kontakt: mail@my-lab.com

Tel.: 030 5659081500


Bildnachweis: 

  • Titelbild + Beitragsbild | Quelle: my-lab International | Modifiziert von my-lab International